73rd Annual Peabody Awards Winners

By Aly Bartholomew
Award season may be coming to an end but not without the annual Peabody Awards. The Peabody Awards celebrates storytelling in television, radio, and on the web. This year’s ceremony is to be held on May 19th but the winners have already been announced.  A lot of fan favorites have been honored and Netflix originals have even made their way into the awards.
Some of the winners you may recognize are:
Orange is the New Black (Netflix)
House of Cards (Netflix)
Breaking Bad (AMC)
Key & Peele (Comedy Central)
Life According to Sam (HBO)
Orphan Black (BBC America)
Scandal (ABC)A personal award was given to former News Anchor, Tom Brokaw, for his work on NBC Nightly News and his writing career that he started after leaving NBC.It’s not everyday that shows like Key and Peele are honored alongside award winning shows like Breaking Bad. That is the beauty of the Peabody Awards though. They focus on storytelling, which is something a variety of programs can do well. To see all the other programs honored in the Peabody Awards make sure to check out peabodyawards.com.